Triptyque

Triptyque

The acceleration of gravity has the value of 9.81 m/s2. The equilibrist seems to defy the forces that work on the body. But gravity, like time, is incessant. As the body rises high, it is at its most vulnerable. Time moves forward; our stories unfold. Our intertwining paths pull together and pull apart; And the forces that bind us together are strong, but can be broken.

Samuel Tétreault, co-founder and co-artistic director of Les 7 doigts de la main, has teamed up with three choreographers to create a piece that explores what can happen when dance and circus arts meet. Combining body fluidity, acrobatic genius and the language of choreography, this performance is made up of three works that incorporate the creative universes of contemporary dance icons.

Les 7 doigts de la main translates literally as “the 7 fingers of the hand”. It is a twist on a French idiom (“the five fingers of the hand”) used to describe distinct parts united tightly, moving in coordination towards one common goal. Here it refers to the 7 founding directors of the company (Isabelle Chassé, Shana Carroll, Patrick Léonard, Faon Shane, Gypsy Snider, Sébastien Soldevila et Samuel Tétreault) who, by combining their distinct talents and experiences, work towards their common artistic goals with the beautifully awkward dexterity of a 7-fingered hand.

Triptyque is a coproduction between Les 7 doigts de la main, under an invitation of Daniel Soulières, and Sadler’s Wells (London), Thomas Lightburn (Vancouver), TOHU (Montréal), Albourne (Norwalk) and Danse-Cité (Montréal). It was presented for the first time at the TOHU in Montreal (CAN), in October 2015.

Length

110 minutes

Credits

Artistic direction : Samuel Tétreault

Choreographers and directors : Marie Chouinard, Victor Quijada, Marcos Morau, Samuel Tétreault, Isabelle Chassé

Music : Louis Dufort, Jasper Gahunia, Nans Bortuzzo

Lightings : Yan Lee Chan

Costumes designers : Liz Vandal, Camille Thibault-Bédard

© Photo by Alexandre Galliez

Triptyque

La valeur moyenne de l’accélération causée par la force gravitationnelle à la surface de la Terre est de 9,81 m/s2. Le corps de l’équilibriste semble se soustraire à cette force. Mais la gravité, comme le temps, est incessante. Plus le corps s’élève, plus il devient vulnérable. Le temps avance, nos histoires se tissent. Nos trajectoires s’attirent et s’éloignent. Les forces qui régissent nos destinées sont puissantes, mais elles peuvent être brisées.

Samuel Tétreault, cofondateur et codirecteur artistique des 7 doigts de la main, s’allie à trois chorégraphes pour la création de ce spectacle qui explore les liens pouvant se créer entre les arts du cirque et la danse. Mariant fluidité des corps, virtuosité acrobatique et langage chorégraphique, ce spectacle, présenté sous la forme d’un triptyque, est composé de trois œuvres qui font des incursions dans les univers créatifs d’icônes de la danse contemporaine.

Ayant pour nom un jeu de mots illustrant l’unité de ses membres, Les 7 doigts de la main évoluent avec sept codirecteurs artistiques aux commandes d’un collectif qui ne cesse de grandir depuis 10 ans et de parcourir le monde, avec pour objectif la même visée artistique d’un cirque d’auteur.

Triptyque est une coproduction entre Les 7 doigts de la main, sous une invitation de Daniel Soulières, Sadler’s Wells (London), Thomas Lightburn (Vancouver), TOHU (Montréal), Albourne (Norwalk) et Danse-Cité (Montréal). La première a eu lieu à la TOHU à Montréal (CAN), en octobre 2015.

Durée

110 minutes

Crédits

Direction artistique : Samuel Tétreault

Chorégraphes et metteurs en scène : Marie Chouinard, Victor Quijada, Marcos Morau, Samuel Tétreault, Isabelle Chassé

Musique : Louis Dufort, Jasper Gahunia, Nans Bortuzzo

Éclairages : Yan Lee Chan

Costumes : Liz Vandal, Camille Thibault-Bédard

© Photo par Alexandre Galliez