ROM@Nathalie Galazka

Reflections on Movement Particles

Reflections on Movement Particles marked Rubberbandance Group’s first European creation residency. It was also Victor Quijada’s first collaboration with lighting designer Yan Lee Chan and with musician/composer Mitchell Akiyama (Intr_version Records), who would later compose the music for Slicing Static and the live symphonic score for Suspension of Disbelief, a Quijada work commissioned by Pacific Northwest Ballet.

Reflections on Movement Particles is a meditation on the abstract versus the narrative nature of the body and its motion, supported by Akiyama’s minimalist electronic soundscapes and Chan’s lighting, an interacting element in the piece.

This work was later incorporated into the repertory program, Elastic Perspective Redux, and toured extensively.

Reflections on Movement Particles premiered in Fall 2003, at Théâtre de L’L in Brussels. The North American premiere took place in Montreal at the MAI, in collaboration with Studio 303, in April 2004.

Length

60 minutes

Credits

Choreographer: Victor Quijada

Original Cast: Joe-Danny Aurélien, Jayko Eloï, Emmanuelle Lê Phan, Anne Plamondon, and Victor Quijada

Lighting Design: Yan Lee Chan

Music: Mitchell Akiyama

Produced by RUBBERBANDance Group in co-production with Festival Danse en vol / Studio 303, and Théâtre de L’L (Belgium). Residency at Théâtre de L’L. With generous support from the CanDance Network Touring Exchange Program.

© Photos by Nathalie Galazka

Reflections on Movement Particles

Reflections on Movement Particles est issue de la première résidence de création du Groupe RUBBERBANDance en Europe. Elle marque aussi le début de la collaboration de Quijada avec le concepteur d’éclairages Yan Lee Chan et avec le compositeur Mitchell Akiyama (Intr_version Records). C’est ce dernier qui, plus tard, composera la musique de Slicing Static et la symphonie qui a accompagné, en direct, Suspension of Disbelief, une commande du Pacific Northwest Ballet.

Reflections on Movement Particles est une réflexion sur l’opposition entre l’abstrait et le narratif dans le mouvement du corps, soutenue par l’environnement électronique minimaliste d’Akiyama et par les éclairages de Chan, qui constituent l’un des éléments pivots de la pièce.

Cette pièce sera plus tard intégrée au programme répertoire de Elastic Perspective Redux, qui fera de nombreuses tournées.

La première de Reflections on Movement Particles a eu lieu à l’automne 2003 au Théâtre de L’L à Bruxelles. La première nord-américaine a été présentée à MAI (Montréal, Arts Interculturels) en collaboration avec le Studio 303, en avril 2004.

Durée

60 minutes

Crédits

Chorégraphe : Victor Quijada

Distribution originale : Joe-Danny Aurélien, Jayko Eloï, Emmanuelle Lê Phan, Anne Plamondon et Victor Quijada

Concepteur des éclairages : Yan Lee Chan

Compositeur : Mitchell Akiyama

Coproduit par le Groupe RUBBERBANDance, le Festival Danse en vol, le Studio 303 et le théâtre de L’L, qui a offert une résidence. Avec le généreux soutien du fonds de création du réseau CanDanse.

© Photos par Nathalie Galazka