Punto Ciego

Punto Ciego

This full-evening work was inspired by the non-linear approaches of writers Milan Kundera and Quentin Tarantino. Comprised of situations that bring personalities together to examine and negotiate varying perspectives on a collective reality, this tragic-comedy uses the audience’s own subjective validation to give the dense physicality of this work a double edge.

Six performers move homogeneously through signature Quijada movements to Jasper Gahunia’s musical score, which ingeniously warps classical music into original compositions. Expanding on his past experiments with spoken word, video projection, audience interaction, and set design, Victor Quijada offers the audience a rich and meaningful multi-layered spectacle.

Punto Ciego premiered October 2008 at the Redfern Arts Center at Keene State College (New Hampshire).

Length

80 minutes

Credits

Choreographer: Victor Quijada

Original Cast: Louise Michel Jackson, Mariusz Ostrowski, Anne Plamondon, Victor Quijada, Lila-Mae G.Talbot, and Frédéric Tavernini

Artistic consultant: Miko Sobreira

Lighting Design: Yan Lee Chan

Composer: Jasper Gahunia (DJ Lil’ Jaz)

Video Concept: René-Pierre Bélanger

Costume Designer: Anne-Marie Veevaete

Set Design: Stéphane Longpré

Required technicians: 3

Produced by RUBBERBANDance Group in co-production with La Société de la Place des Arts de Montréal, the National Arts Centre (Ottawa), and the New England Foundation for the Arts / National Dance Project (production and presentation grants); in partnership with the Centennial Theatre of Bishops University (Lennoxville, Quebec), and Salle Pauline-Julien (Sainte-Geneviève, Quebec). With generous support from the Conseil des arts et des lettres du Québec, the Conseil des arts de Montréal, and the Canada Council for the Arts.

© Photos by Michael Slobodian

THE MUSIC FROM PUNTO CIEGO IS AVAILABLE

The music from Punto Ciego is available on the album Taking Notes: Music from Punto Ciego and Other Lost Thoughts, produced by composer Jasper Gahunia (aka DJ Lil Jaz, eljayII) in collaboration with RUBBERBANDance Group. Only 500 individually packaged, silkscreened, and numbered CDs are available here exclusively.

You can order your copy via PayPal simply by clicking the button below.

Listen to a 3 song preview by clicking here.

Price : 12 $ + taxes and shipping

Punto Ciego

Cette pièce a été inspirée par les approches non linéaires des auteurs Milan Kundera et Quentin Tarantino. Composée de situations qui rassemblent les personnalités afin d’examiner et de négocier les perspectives sur une réalité collective, cette tragicomédie se sert de la subjectivité du public pour donner sa densité à cette œuvre à deux faces.

Six interprètes se déplacent de façon hétérogène dans une esthétique signée Quijada et sur une musique originale de Jasper Gahunia, qui remanie ingénieusement des pièces classiques pour en faire des compositions originales. Exploitant à fond ses expériences de création parlée, de projection vidéo, d’interaction avec le public et de conception de décors, Quijada offre à son public une expérience riche sur plusieurs plans.

La première de Punto Ciego a eu lieu en octobre 2008 au Redfern Arts Center du Keene State College (New Hampshire, É.U.).

Durée

80 minutes

Crédits

Chorégraphe : Victor Quijada

Distribution originale :  Louise Michel Jackson, Mariusz Ostrowski, Anne Plamondon, Victor Quijada, Lila-Mae G. Talbot et Frédéric Tavernini

Consultant artistique : Miko Sobreira

Compositeur : Jasper Gahunia (DJ Lil’ Jaz)

Concepteur éclairage : Yan Lee Chan

Concepteur vidéo : René-Pierre Bélanger

Conceptrice costumes : Anne-Marie Veevaete

Concepteur décor : Stéphane Longpré

Nombre de techniciens: 3

Coproduit par le Groupe RUBBERBANDance, la Société de la Place des Arts de Montréal, le Centre national des Arts et la New England Foundation for the Arts/National Dance Project (subvention de création et de tournée), avec la participation du Théâtre Centennial de l’Université Bishop (Lennoxville, Québec) et de la Salle Pauline-Julien (Sainte-Geneviève, Québec). Avec le généreux soutien du Conseil des arts et des lettres du Québec, du Conseil des arts de Montréal et du Conseil des Arts du Canada.

© Photo par Michael Slobodian

LA MUSIQUE DE PUNTO CIEGO EST DISPONIBLE SUR DISQUE

La musique de Punto Ciego est disponible sur disque. Procurez-vous dès maintenant l’album Taking Notes, Music from Punto Ciego and Other Lost Thoughts, produit par le compositeur Jasper Gahunia (alias DJ Lil’ Jaz, eljayII) en collaboration avec le Groupe RUBBERBANDance. Seulement 500 copies, emballées à la main, sérigraphiées et numérotées, sont disponibles ici en exclusivité.

Commandez directement votre copie par PayPal en cliquant sur le bouton ci-dessous.

Vous pouvez également écouter des extraits de l’album en cliquant ici.

Prix : 12 $ + taxes et frais de poste