Gravity of Center

In a space out of time, Victor Quijada’s raw movement expresses the adversarial relationship between the individual and the group. Each being is both at the centre of the world and orbiting around others. Interdependence is obvious, and struggles are inevitable. Five dancers – a family, a nomadic tribe or an entire people – interweave, fight, manifest their cravings, and hustle in an astonishing fluidity of action – all of this merely to survive.

Gravity of Center successfully contains the ferocity of hip hop within a perfectly refined choreographic language. Between dynamic rhythms and physical prowess, the unique vocabulary of RUBBERBANDance Group is at the epicentre of the company’s twelfth creation.

Victor Quijada has once again called upon his longtime collaborators, Yan Lee Chan, who sculpts the space by his lighting, and Jasper Gahunia (DJ Lil’ Jaz), who creates an aural atmosphere that is a true link to RBDG’s visual and physical aesthetic.

Gravity of Center premiered in April 2011 at the Cinquième Salle of Place des Arts in Montreal.

Length

70 minutes

Credits

Choreographer: Victor Quijada
Performers:   Elon Höglund, Emmanuelle Lê Phan,  Daniel Mayo, Anne Plamondon, and Victor Quijada,
Lighting Design: Yan Lee Chan
Composer: Jasper Gahunia
Costume Designer: Julie Charland

Required technicians: 3

Produced by RUBBERBANDance Group in co-production with La Société de la Place des Arts de Montréal. With residencies hosted by the Cinquième Salle of the Place des Arts, Circuit-Est centre chorégraphique, and Festival Danse Encore (Trois-Rivières, Quebec).

With generous support from the Conseil des arts de Montréal, the Conseil des arts et des lettres du Québec, and the Canada Council for the Arts.

© Photos by Jocelyn Michel

Gravity of Center

Dans un espace hors du temps, l’esthétique du mouvement brut de Victor Quijada exprime l’adversité entre l’individu et le groupe. Chaque être est à la fois au centre du monde et en orbite autour des autres. L’indépendance est évidente, les problèmes, inévitables. Cinq interprètes – une famille, une tribu de nomades ou un peuple entier – se mélangent, se battent, se jalousent et se bousculent dans une fluidité des mouvements étonnante. Tout ça, pour survivre.

Gravity of Center réussit à contenir la férocité du hip-hop dans un langage chorégraphique raffiné. Entre les rythmes dynamiques et les acrobaties, le vocabulaire unique du Groupe RUBBERBANDance est l’épicentre de cette douzième création.

Quijada fait appel à ses fidèles collaborateurs : Yan Lee Chan, qui sculpte l’espace avec ses éclairages, et Jasper Gahunia (DJ Lil’ Jaz), qui crée une atmosphère qui est l’équivalent audio de l’esthétique du travail de Quijada.

La première de Gravity of Center a eu lieu en avril 2011 à la Cinquième Salle de la Place des Arts à Montréal.

Durée

70 minutes

Crédits

Chorégraphie : Victor Quijada 
Interprétation :   Elon Höglund, Emmanuelle Lê Phan, Daniel Mayo, Anne Plamondon, et Victor Quijada
Éclairages : Yan Lee Chan 
Musique : Jasper Gahunia 
Costumes : Julie Charland

Nombre de techniciens : 3

Coproduit par le Groupe RUBBERBANDance et la Société de la Place des Arts de Montréal. Une résidence a été offerte par la Cinquième Salle de la Place des Arts, par Circuit-Est centre chorégraphique et par le Festival Danse Encore (Trois-Rivières, Québec). Avec le généreux soutien du Conseil des arts de Montréal, du Conseil des arts et des lettres du Québec et du Conseil des Arts du Canada.

© Photos par Jocelyn Michel