Enter Woven

Enter Woven examines the push and pull of the environment we live in. It brings into focus the causal effect of our interconnected relationships. In this piece, the atmosphere is palpable; limbs reach out to cut and carve through the ether. Individuals join and compress against each other. Their bodies form architectures. These structures shift, and individuals shift over, under, and through one another. We watch as their stories intertwine, detach, reconnect, and transform.

Among the world’s top contemporary dance companies and a global cultural ambassador, Hubbard Street Dance Chicago demonstrates fluency in a wide range of techniques and forms, and deep comprehension of abstract artistry and emotional nuance. The company is critically acclaimed for its exuberant and innovative repertoire, featuring works by master American and international choreographers. Hubbard Street’s 18 artists hail from four countries and 12 U.S. states, and comprise a superlative ensemble of virtuosity and versatility. Since its founding by Lou Conte in 1977, Hubbard Street has grown through the establishment of multiple platforms. Each is dedicated to the support and advancement of dance as an art form, as a practice, and as a method for generating and sustaining communities of all kinds.

Enter Woven was presented for the first time with Hubbard Street Dance Chicago at the MCA’s intimate Edlis Neeson Theater as part of Princess Grace Awards: New Works in Chicago (US) in December 2014.

Lenght

30 minutes

Credits

Choreography : Victor Quijada

Music : Jasper Gahunia

Lighting Design : Burke Brown

Costume Design : Marilène Bastien

With : Jacqueline Burnett, Alicia Delgadillo, Kellie Epperheimer, Emilie Leriche, Jane Rehm, Jessica Tong, Jesse Bechard, Jonathan Fredrickson, Michael Gross, Jason Hortin, Johnny McMillan, Andrew Murdock, and Kevin J. Shannon

© Photo by Todd Rosenberg

Enter Woven

Enter Woven s’attarde au mouvement de va-et-vient dans notre environnement et nous amène à observer les interconnexions entre nos relations. Dans cette pièce, l’atmosphère est palpable : les membres se développent pour sculpter l’éther. Les individus se rejoignent et se pressent les uns contre les autres, leurs corps deviennent des structures qui se déplacent, et les individus se déplacent sur, sous et à travers les uns les autres. L’observateur voit leurs histoires se croiser, se détacher, se reconnecter et se transformer.

Hubbard Street Dance Chicago est l’une des compagnies de danse contemporaine les plus reconnues internationalement. Ambassadeur culturel mondial, le Hubbard Street fait preuve d’une maîtrise exceptionnelle dans une vaste étendue de techniques et de styles, et d’une compréhension intime de l’art abstrait et de la nuance émotionnelle. La compagnie est appréciée pour son répertoire exubérant et novateur, de créateurs américains acclamés et de chorégraphes de carrière internationale. Les 18 membres de la compagnie proviennent de quatre pays et douze états américains, et constituent un joyau de virtuosité et de polyvalence. Depuis sa fondation en 1977 par Lou Conte, le Hubbard Street a grandi en multipliant ses canaux de diffusion. Chacun d’entre eux est voué au soutien et à l’avancement de la danse en tant que forme d’art, pratique et méthode pour générer et régénérer les communautés de toutes sortes.

La première de Enter Woven a eu lieu en décembre 2014 au MCA’s intimate Edlis Neeson Theater à Chicago (É.-U.) dans le cadre de Princess Grace Awards: New Works avec le Hubbard Street Dance Chicago.

Durée

30 minutes

Crédits

Musique : Jasper Gahunia

Chorégraphie : Victor Quijada

Conception des costumes : Marilène Bastien

Conception des éclairages : Burke Brown

Interprètes : Jacqueline Burnett, Alicia Delgadillo, Kellie Epperheimer, Emilie Leriche, Jane Rehm, Jessica Tong, Jesse Bechard, Jonathan Fredrickson, Michael Gross, Jason Hortin, Johnny McMillan, Andrew Murdock et Kevin J. Shannon

© Photo par Todd Rosenberg