AV Input Output

AV Input/Output

On a bare stage, virtuoso dancers Victor Quijada and Anne Plamondon become two contorted puppets, two lovers, two children, two strangers. Their moving, complex solos and duets oscillate between strength and disequilibrium, in a place where the real and the virtual converge. Both as themselves and as characters based on themselves, RBDG’s two co-directors take us into a world where intimacy – true or fictional? – is magnified by projected images of filmed interviews.

AV Input/Output marked the company’s first collaboration with Jasper Gahunia, a.k.a. DJ Lil’ Jaz, a ground-breaking turntable champ who samples classical music into a hip-hop form. This remarkable synthesis of Victor Quijada’s exploration of the body’s truth is a reality-dance event combining pure motion and theatrical performance, a work that surpasses audience expectations yet again.

AV Input/Output premiered in March 2008 at the Cinquième Salle of Place des Arts in Montreal.

Length

75 minutes with intermission

Credits

Choreographer: Victor Quijada

Dancers: Anne Plamondon and Victor Quijada

Video Concept: René-Pierre Bélanger

Lighting Design: Yan Lee Chan

Set Design: Stéphane Longpré

Costume Design: Anne-Marie Veevaete

Composer: Jasper Gahunia with additional music provided by Mitchell Akiyama

Required technicians: 3

Produced by RUBBERBANDance Group in co-production with La Société de la Place des Arts de Montréal, the National Arts Centre (Ottawa), and the New England Foundation for the Arts (U.S.A.). With generous support from the Conseil des arts et des lettres du Québec and the Canada Council for the Arts. Residencies hosted by Salle Pauline-Julien (Sainte-Geneviève, Quebec) and the Maison de la culture Mercier of the Réseau Accès Culture (Montreal, Quebec).

© Photos by Samuel Rigaux

AV Input/Output

AV Input/Output brouille les limites entre fiction et réalité. Sur une scène dépouillée, les virtuoses Victor Quijada et Anne Plamondon deviennent deux pantins désarticulés, deux amants, deux enfants, deux étrangers. Leurs solos et duos, émouvants, captivants et complexes oscillent entre force et déséquilibre, nous transportant vers un espace où le réel et le virtuel se mélangent. En tant qu’eux-mêmes et en tant que personnages, les codirecteurs nous emmènent vers un univers où l’intimité – réelle ou fictive? – est amplifiée par des projections et des entrevues filmées.

Cette œuvre marque le début de la collaboration de Jasper Gahunia, « DJ Lil’Jaz », un prodige des tables de mixage qui transforme des pièces classiques en rythmes hip-hop par des techniques d’échantillonnage. Remarquable synthèse du travail d’exploration que mène Quijada, cette œuvre est un événement de danse-réalité qui combine le mouvement brut et la performance théâtrale. Avec AV Input/Output, le Groupe RUBBERBANDance dépasse, encore une fois, les attentes du public.

La première d’AV Input/Output a eu lieu en mars 2008 à la Cinquième Salle de la Place des Arts, à Montréal.

Durée

75 minutes avec entracte

Crédits

Chorégraphe : Victor Quijada

Interprètes : Anne Plamondon et Victor Quijada

Concepteur vidéo : René-Pierre Bélanger

Concepteur des éclairages : Yan Lee Chan

Concepteur des décors : Stéphane Longpré

Conceptrice des costumes : Anne-Marie Veevaete

Compositeur : Jasper Gahunia, certaines pièces par Mitchell Akiyama

Nombre de techniciens : 3

Coproduit par le Groupe RUBBERBANDance, la Société de la Place des Arts de Montréal, le Centre national des Arts et la New England Foundation for the Arts (É.-U.). Avec le généreux soutien du Conseil des arts et des lettres du Québec et du Conseil des Arts du Canada. Des résidences ont été offertes par la salle Pauline-Julien (Sainte-Geneviève, Québec) et par la maison de la culture Mercier du réseau Accès culture (Montréal, Québec).

© Photos by Samuel Rigaux