A chance meeting in an airport gives long-lost lovers an opportunity for reconciliation. The fruit of the company’s second collaboration with director René-Pierre Bélanger, the choreography, danced to Beethoven’s 9th Symphony, was commissioned as a work for the screen to honour the inaugural performance of Kent Nagano as the new conductor of the Montreal Symphonic Orchestra.

Départ premiered as part of “La symphonie éclatée – Bienvenue, Maestro!” in September 2006.



4 minutes


Director: René-Pierre Bélanger

Choreographer: Victor Quijada

Performers: Victor Quijada, Anne Plamondon

Music: Symphony No. 9 in D minor by Ludwig Van Beethoven, performed by the Montreal Symphony Orchestra

Produced by Amérimage Spectra for Radio-Canada.